Ironwoman Dreams

If I can do this, anyone can.

Pinspiration Pains: A Body Image Story

Leave a comment

I sincerely wish that I could be joking with I say that looking at the health and fitness-related posts on Pinterest makes me want to cry. I don’t know why it’s such a shock to my system, when I should know better, that women all over the country are looking at, taking in, and sharing body-shaming propaganda that helps perpetuate negative feelings about body size, shape, weight and fitness level.

“5 moves to get rid of those thunder thighs”

“Burn 500 calories in just 30 minutes with this workout!”

“Supermodel exercise routine”

“Target that lower tummy pooch with these moves”

“Get flat abs in 30 days with this diet”

“Obsessed is a word the lazy use to describe the dedicated”

“You Earn Your Body”

“Train Insane or Remain the Same”

I read this stuff and take it personally, because it’s addressed to me (and you, and every other woman who isn’t a “supermodel”). Reading these lines tells me I should somehow have to feel inadequate because I’m not flat-bellied, super toned or skinny. It’s hogwash. When I think of how long it’s gotten me to be able to brush aside these kinds of messages, to embrace me for me, I seethe at the thought of how other women are reading these and taking them in. This stuff is utter JUNK FOOD for the soul. It does immeasurable unseen damage.

I want to scream from the rooftops: “Ladies, men, you are good enough! Fitness and health comes from the heart, and not from wanting to look like some digitally rendered genetic freak!”

Since screaming on rooftops of L.A. is probably grounds for incarceration, I’ll just post a request here:

Ladies and gents, I implore you, please stop posting, pinning, re-blogging and sharing social content that contains body shaming language and impossible fitness or diet routines; instead, try sharing loving, inspirational health and fitness posts. Let’s lift each other up instead of breaking each other down, shall we?

Thanks. I’ll come down from the rooftop now.

You can do it!!!

You can do it!!!

Author: Solange Deschatres

Innovative multi-marketing strategist and writer with a futuristic eyeball (and one normal one for writing, reading, design and such). Strong background in mobile, interactive and social marketing. Runner, writer, and art, music, tech and equine enthusiast. Owner of the most amazing Beagle you'll ever meet.

Leave a Reply

