Ironwoman Dreams

If I can do this, anyone can.

Luck Be A Lady: An End-Of-Year Story

Leave a comment

I think I heard on NPR once that people who seem to just fall into luck at every turn actually just expect to be lucky, and have an overall “glass half full” outlook on life, and so are more attuned to the positive things that happen, and see more opportunities than the average person. I don’t think I’m particularly luckier than most, but I do think that, when things seem bleakest for me, they always seem to have a way of working out better than I expected. Maybe it’s just coincidental, but maybe it’s because I put forth a lot of effort in being positive, calm, healthy, insightful and kind to others.

I have so, so much to be grateful for this year: the fantastic adventure to becoming an IronWoman, the wonderful friendships I’ve made, the lasting friendships that have gotten stronger, the “A-ha!” moments and life-changing lessons I’ve learned, a career at a great company that has valued my talents SO much that they’ve created a new position for me on a brand new team (I can’t wait to get started), and my personal gift to myself of great health that has helped me through rough times. I’m pleased to announce that I DON’T HAVE CANCER! Also, I’m healing from surgery beautifully, and, thanks to my surgeon, Dr. Kenneth Adashek of Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, I will barely have a scar to show for it!

Look, Ma, no scar! (Please ignore the fact that I'm not wearing any makeup).

Look, Ma, no scar! (Please ignore the fact that I’m not wearing any makeup).

Sure, there have been some pretty excruciating moments, where I felt lost, alone in some unreachable place because no one could understand what I was going through, but, through all, I’ve been supported, championed, and cared for in such a way that I almost feel unworthy. I’m overwhelmed by you all. Thank you, from the very deepest place of the center of my being. The support I’ve received has made me fall in love with the world again, and with every person who has touched my life.

I have a five very simple goals for 2014, so I’ll just list them here:

1) HEAL UP! (This is, of course, the first step)

2) Strengthen (incorporate yoga and get back to running–hoping to walk/run Catalina Island Conservancy Marathon in March)

3) Pay it forward (be an active supporter and angel for friends who need me)

4) Squash unemployment debt (the least sexy of my goals, but it must be done)

5) Kick booty in my new job (because I can)

Everything’s comin’ up roses, folks! It’s going to be a wonderful, beautiful 2014!

Author: Solange Deschatres

Innovative multi-marketing strategist and writer with a futuristic eyeball (and one normal one for writing, reading, design and such). Strong background in mobile, interactive and social marketing. Runner, writer, and art, music, tech and equine enthusiast. Owner of the most amazing Beagle you'll ever meet.

Leave a Reply

