Ironwoman Dreams

If I can do this, anyone can.

Raws III: A Healthy Story

3 Comments

(I’m a day behind, but here is my update on how it’s going, from yesterday):

 

Raw Diet Day 3:

Wow, I’m really surprised at the amount of concern this raw “cleanse” has raised from friends and family, and kind of, I don’t know, sad, I guess, in that people wouldn’t trust me to have done my own research and blindly plunged myself into some unhealthy diet.

 

I guess I’ll address some of the concerns raised:

 

1)   It’s not enough calories. Eating so few calories will permanently damage your metabolism. Trust me, between the protein powder, nuts, avocados and fruit, I am getting enough calories, but let’s break it down:

 

Yesterday, I had:

 

1 double-powder protein shake with ½ avocado + small banana: 410 calories

 

1 clementine: 35 calories
21 almonds: 150 calories

 

lunch salad w/onion, sprouts, tomato, celery, sunflower seeds, walnuts, and red wine vinegar: 250 calories

Melon and grape cup: 100 calories

 

Peach: 60 calories

 

Half avocado: 170 calories

Salad with dried cranberries and walnuts: 223 calories

Glass of red wine: 125 calories

Total calories: 1503

 

Technically, for me to lose even 2 lbs per week, I have consume a net of less than 1200 calories. At 1500 calories, I’m not starving myself. Granted, I don’t have a glass of red wine every night (it was a work function), but still. Yes, it’s a lean diet, but it’s not going to screw up my metabolism, especially if I keep up the vigorous exercise.

 

2)   There’s too much sugar in this diet because of all of the fruit you’re eating.

Yes, there is sugar in fruit, and sugar is sugar, regardless of whether it’s cake or a banana. However, the difference is in how the body reacts. Fructose does not cause the same spike in insulin as sucrose (sugar) does. Plus, fruit contains fiber and water, which aid digestion.

 

The truth is that most Americans do not consume enough fruit, so it’s not something I’d eliminate from my diet. Is it a good idea to keep the higher sugar fruits and veggies at a limit? Probably not a bad idea, so keep it to things like berries and melons and save bananas and apples for once a day.

 

3)   You’re not getting enough protein. This is the one I hear the most, and I completely understand and validate this concern. Again, let’s look at numbers. My breakfast shake contains 32 grams of protein alone. I require around 60 grams. I consumed 54 yesterday, a little short, but not horrible.

 

Additional points I’d like to make:

–       It is not a “diet” to try to lose weight (i.e. I am not some Los Angeles body-loathing pseudo hippie who goes raw under the guise of health, when all she really wants to do is eat 400 calories a day and get away with it)

 

–       I am only doing this for two weeks

–       I am doing this to help with my digestion issues and refined sugar addiction caused by the high-carb Ironman diet

 

–       I have done this before, for three weeks, and I felt amazing afterward (and during)

 

Anyway, it’s day three and guess how I feel. I feel great! My energy has returned, full force, and my mood has lifted tremendously. This morning, we embarked on a vigorous, hilly bike ride, and I had a blast. Last night, I only woke up once, so the sleep is getting better.

What amazes me is how good my willpower is. I had read once that willpower is like any muscle, that it must be exercised regularly in order to get stronger. Last night, I attended a work social function, where we ordered from a tasty menu of appetizers. Of course, pretty much everything was cooked. I ordered the salad that had the least amount of extras on it, told them hold the cheese and dressing on the side. I had a glass of cabernet, and munched and sipped while people scarfed delicious-smelling hot food right under my nose. As much as I craved a plate of truffle French fries, I felt solid in the knowledge that I was doing something healthy for myself, and, the truth is, greasy fries are a dime a dozen, but good health is priceless.

As a side note, I really do appreciate people’s concerns and input, because I know it’s coming from a good place, but also know that I would never do anything to physically harm myself. I may be crazy, but not that crazy! 🙂

Author: Solange Deschatres

Innovative multi-marketing strategist and writer with a futuristic eyeball (and one normal one for writing, reading, design and such). Strong background in mobile, interactive and social marketing. Runner, writer, and art, music, tech and equine enthusiast. Owner of the most amazing Beagle you'll ever meet.

3 thoughts on “Raws III: A Healthy Story

  1. It really sounds like you’ve thought this through and I personally think a 2 week raw diet throughout the year makes complete sense. In fact I’ve done the 2 week Phil Maffetone 2 week plan before and had similar results with increased energy, better sleep, and more of an overall positive outlook on things because of how I felt.

    Keep up the good work and keep posting about it.

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Bob, and congrats on your move to FL! My parents live in Vero Beach and they love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

