Ironwoman Dreams

If I can do this, anyone can.

Friendship: A Training Story

1 Comment

“Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: “What! You too? I thought I was the only one.”
― C.S. Lewis

I didn’t set out on this journey to connect to others. Not specifically, I mean. I thought that I might make a few friends, and a few friends of mine might find amusement in reading about my many adventures in training. I expected to fall in the dirt, to pick myself up and dust myself off, as I’ve done over time, and gone on. I never expected others to lift my battered limbs, clean my wounds, and dry my tears. I didn’t expect that they’d cry with me, and then laugh at the utter ridiculousness of what we’d just tried to do. I didn’t expect to feel supporting hands on my back as I moved onward.

Now, here I am, with this wide, wide circle of support, both through TNT and beyond. They’ve come to my aid so many times, especially when my faith in myself began to falter. They believe in me, even when I can’t.

I know that a lot of people train for a full ironman alone, and more power to them, but I cannot fathom what this experience would have been like without my friends.

I just wanted to take the time to thank you all. You inspire me not to give up on myself. I can do this. We’re all in it together. Thank you so much.

20130521-061617.jpgPhoto credit: Paiwei Wei

Author: Solange Deschatres

Innovative multi-marketing strategist and writer with a futuristic eyeball (and one normal one for writing, reading, design and such). Strong background in mobile, interactive and social marketing. Runner, writer, and art, music, tech and equine enthusiast. Owner of the most amazing Beagle you'll ever meet.

One thought on “Friendship: A Training Story

  1. now you are beginning to understand! wax on wax off! love miss miyagi proud of you again today!

Leave a Reply

