Ironwoman Dreams

If I can do this, anyone can.

Recovery Week: A Training Story

2 Comments

Well, folks, I thought I’d have awesome news to share in the new year. In fact, I was almost certain of it, but, alas, the awesomely perfect job I’d been interviewing for extensively fell through at the last minute (they cited budgetary reasons). I found out the Friday morning before Christmas, right after timing my swim splits for 400m.

Christmas was a good distraction, but, of course, after the tinsel falls away,  reality sets back in. We have to go back to real life where we left it off, and also survey the damage that was done pre (and during) the holidays. The good news is that I actually lost an inch and a half from my hips over the holiday season, but my mood was in not so great shape. Post-Christmas, my energy level plummeted and I’m still struggling today. My motivation for everything has waned and I can’t seem to get enough sleep (I walk the dog at 6:30 a.m., return at 7, eat some toast, and go back to sleep until 9:30, when I have to pry myself out of bed with a crowbar to get moving). I’m not sure if I’m coming down with something or whether it’s depression, but I suspect that it’s the latter of the two.

My tendonitis returned in my left foot last weekend on a rain-soaked and freezing 6.25 mile run. The good news is that my overall training pace is now about a 9:25/mile, which proves that I have gotten stronger and faster. Last Sunday, we did a bike ride, and, in spite of struggling up some of the steep hills with my platform pedals, I did fairly well on the rest of the ride and finally felt less winded overall (some of the windedness, I suspect, was due to nervousness also).

Coach Holly is going to give me my official start on clipless pedals on Saturday, which will, admittedly, give me more power and advantage up hills. I know for sure that I’m really behind everyone else on the team for that reason. I have strong legs, so there’s no reason I shouldn’t be keeping up there with the rest of them.

I missed a bike and a run this week, which bums me out, especially since the bike I could have done, but I just felt too exhausted to do. I really hope that my energy returns. It is beginning to worry me. Still, coaches say that this is a “recovery week,” so I will take it as a chance to recover from the blow of not getting my dream job, to get some rest, and to redouble all of my efforts in training, job hunting, and in taking care of myself.

Lessons Learned:

1) Sometimes, even IronWomen need a break.

Author: Solange Deschatres

Innovative multi-marketing strategist and writer with a futuristic eyeball (and one normal one for writing, reading, design and such). Strong background in mobile, interactive and social marketing. Runner, writer, and art, music, tech and equine enthusiast. Owner of the most amazing Beagle you'll ever meet.

2 thoughts on “Recovery Week: A Training Story

  1. Great entry. I’m feeling the same these days. I’m looking at it that my body is saying that I need more rest and I’ll pick it up again next week. There’s been some unexpected positives: less aches and pains. Although the mood isn’t elevated by the workouts maybe the break is just what we need.

    • Thanks, Trevor! Yeah, part of smart training is the ability to listen to your body. If something seems really off, it’s probably best not to push too much. Eventually things will go back to normal, and, if they don’t, then it’s time to seek professional help (physician or therapist) to get back on track. Here’s hoping the post-holiday blahs are only temporary, and that 2013 brings lots more energy and good things!

Leave a Reply

