Ironwoman Dreams

If I can do this, anyone can.

Forgive Me While I “GRRR!”: A Cycling Story

2 Comments

Folks, I’m seriously frustrated with the bike. As I’ve said before, last Tuesday, I took Shadow Comet, my road bike, out to the parking lot, stopped it, started it, I even wove around posts with great control. I felt fine, smooth, confident. Then, I hit the bike path in Monterey on Saturday, and freaked out a bit, got wobbly, but managed to stay upright the whole time. This morning, on the somewhat scary and narrow Ballona Creek bike path, I straddled the bike, pushed off, and almost wobbled into a gate. What the heck?

Clearly, given the fact that I had nailed the bike in the parking lot, this wobbling is mostly due to confidence. I think that I have put so much pressure on myself to be successful and to catch up to all of those folks who have been riding for years, that it undermines my efforts. While I did feel more confident while rolling along the path (a lot less wobbling), I think I psyched myself out when starting off. And, of course, the more I psych myself out and think I’ll wobble or fall, the more I create a situation where I could wobble and fall before picking up speed.

I know that there’s nothing that I can do to get better but to spend more time in the saddle, but it seems like, the more pressure I put on myself to get better, the more I freak out. How do I get myself into the right head space to be confident and calm? My first group ride is this weekend and I am terrified (mostly of embarrassing myself in front of my teammates). I would have thought that, by now, the confidence thing would be going in the right direction, but it seems to be going backward inexplicably. I’m incredibly frustrated and scared I’ll be left behind in training.

Has anyone been in a similar situation and found a technique to help calm the fear and boost confidence? Please share! Thanks šŸ™‚

Author: Solange Deschatres

Innovative multi-marketing strategist and writer with a futuristic eyeball (and one normal one for writing, reading, design and such). Strong background in mobile, interactive and social marketing. Runner, writer, and art, music, tech and equine enthusiast. Owner of the most amazing Beagle you'll ever meet.

2 thoughts on “Forgive Me While I “GRRR!”: A Cycling Story

  1. I definitely feel your frustration. Easy to say, hard to do. Announce upfront to the group that this is a new part of your training and definitely not yet your strongest. I think you’ll find everyone extremely understand and supportive which will immediately help. Everyone has been there and wobbling, even falling off course, is just part of the experience. Also worse case – you fall and can have a good laugh with everyone which ultimately makes the experience even more memorable for you. Don’t sweat it and have some fun (isn’t that what its all about anyway)!

    • Thanks, Bob! I realize that people are probably a lot more supportive than I give them credit for. Of course, the kid in me still fears being made fun of or looking ridiculous, but that’s just something I’m going to have to get over. I know it’ll get better with time, and, eventually the bike will feel like second nature. It seems like that day is so far in the future, but I’m going to keep pedaling on until that day comes. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

