Ironwoman Dreams

If I can do this, anyone can.

The Marathon Mulligan: A Running Story

1 Comment

Murphy’s Law, Mulligan, Devil’s Luck…there are lots of ways to describe that week before your big race. You know, that week where everything that seems to possibly be able to go wrong, does go wrong, and threatens to blow all of your months of dedicated training right out the window.

Last week, my left foot started getting sore right above the arch, for no good reason. It did not hurt during the Rock N’ Roll Half Marathon (which, I know I have not reviewed here, but my friend still owes me pix), it did not hurt immediately after the race. It did not hurt until two days after the race. Additionally, every morning, I wake up and it’s super sore, and then, when I put a shoe on and walk around for a while, it loosens up. I have no idea what’s going on, but, of course, on the brink of running 22 miles on uneven surfaces, I’m more than a little concerned.

This past week, an old hip spasm returned. In spite of hours of rolling, stretching and walking around, the hip has firmly decided to remain stiff. Normally, I would have just gone to my sports med doc and gotten injections, but, oh yeah, I no longer have health insurance. That’s problematic, to say the least. It’s just muscular and it’s just a spasm, so it could be worse. It’s just an annoying pain that I’d rather not have to deal with for 26.2+ miles.

To top it all off, I felt a familiar tickle creep into my lungs and the back of my throat Saturday evening. NOOOOOO! Sunday morning when the tickle worsened, I raced to the pharmacy, where the pharmacist pointed me to a $13 elderberry syrup and told me that it was the only thing proven to help the immune system. She told me to eat light, drink fluids, and get plenty of sleep, and wished me luck on my marathon. At least she seemed optimistic about my recovery.

It’s Tuesday and my cold hasn’t turned into a full-blown cold. I wake up with a bit of congestion, which gets better throughout the day. I don’t feel horrible. I think that’s a good sign that I should be okay by Saturday. If I get enough rest and stretching, maybe the rest of me will cooperate as well.

Then again, I don’t want to jinx it.

Author: Solange Deschatres

Innovative multi-marketing strategist and writer with a futuristic eyeball (and one normal one for writing, reading, design and such). Strong background in mobile, interactive and social marketing. Runner, writer, and art, music, tech and equine enthusiast. Owner of the most amazing Beagle you'll ever meet.

One thought on “The Marathon Mulligan: A Running Story

  1. I’m sure things will workout and good luck this Saturday… You’ll now have two race reports to post about.

Leave a Reply

