Ironwoman Dreams

If I can do this, anyone can.

Double Double Your Enjoyment?

Leave a comment

Oh, help, what have I sunk myself into here? I’m training for a hilly trail marathon, learning how to swim, and trying to eek out some time to feel more comfortable on my bike. Oh, and did I mention Pilates as cross training? Most days I’m finding myself doubling up on workouts. It’s getting a little intense up in herr (I’m from “Tha Lou”–we are still allowed to say it like that).

My week so far:

Sunday: 12-mile hilly trail run (feeling all right, pretty good even)

Monday: 1 hour swimming, 1 hour intense Pilates (feeling a little beat up)

Tuesday: 1 hour of intense hill training (feeling good, but still beat up)

Wednesday: 1 hour swimming, 1 hour light running (feeling a bit strung out, and beat up–with periodic light muscle throbbing)
What remains:

Thursday: 1 hr 15 min regular intensity running, 1 hr super intense Pilates

Friday: 1 hr swimming, 2-3 hrs low intensity bike riding

Saturday: Glorious rest

Sunday: 16-18-mile run (heeeellllpppp)

I know that the “beat up” feeling won’t be forever, and that the full marathon intensity will be able to subside a bit after my November marathon (before it picks back up in Spring season), so that I can focus a bit more on getting my bike and swim up to par. Still, I’m kind of worried–can a person keep up this level of intensity longterm without burning out or doing serious damage? I know the cross-training is good, and that it will make me stronger, overall, but, what if I’m just, plain, tired?

Right now it feels like I barely have any muscle left, like the rest has been melted away by too much activity. And all of this can explain why I am exhausted at 9 p.m.

For the past few days, “It’ll get better” has been my mantra. Now I will rest, rinse and repeat it.

Author: Solange Deschatres

Innovative multi-marketing strategist and writer with a futuristic eyeball (and one normal one for writing, reading, design and such). Strong background in mobile, interactive and social marketing. Runner, writer, and art, music, tech and equine enthusiast. Owner of the most amazing Beagle you'll ever meet.

Leave a Reply

